THE UNEXPECTED RETURN OF ELIOT ROSEWATER, Chapter 8.


Chapter 8.

Zog could not respond except in his native dialect.  Eliot lit a match and opened a window.

“Come with me, my friend,” said Eliot, wheeling himself towards the door and pulling his hand in an arc, inviting the creature from outer space to join him.  Zog danced past the old man, shuffled and hopped into the hallway.

Eliot motored through his doorway, spun in his seat, closed and locked the door to his apartment.  Then, with a very loud voice, speaking slowly and precisely, Eliot attempted to inform Zog that the two of them should go outside together.  Zog cocked his giant ant-like head.  The alien’s body looked to Eliot much like a wooden marionette whose operator had fallen asleep at the controls.  It seemed to collapse into itself.  Zog could not figure out what Eliot was trying to say.

Eliot fiddled with the joystick on his scooter and approached the front door of the apartment building.  Zog was suddenly animated and, boing, tappity-tap, clickity-click, fa-rump, tappity-tap, twirl, he bounced past Eliot and opened the door for them.  Eliot followed Zog out into the sunshine and, with a great exhalation and a twist of his decrepit body, he closed the door behind them.

As he started to wheel himself down the ramp that had been added to the building back in1991, the year that the Americans with Disabilities Act was passed, Eliot came to the realization that his non-Earthling friend would soon draw attention, even in this run-down neighborhood.  In fact, at the foot of the ramp, one of the drug dealers was sliding over as if to strike up a conversation.  He was a black teenager, eighteen years old, wearing a ragged t-shirt with a torn lightweight sweatshirt over it.  There was a hood on the sweatshirt and he wore that up over his head.

“Psst.  Old dude.  Little guy.  Weed,” said the young man.

Eliot was embarrassed for his planet and tried to explain to Zog what the proper etiquette was in this situation.  He fumbled for words and, recalling that slow, loudly spoken English didn’t cut through the language barrier, he whispered hopelessly, “Ignore him.”

The young dope dealer smiled his widest smile, showing off his gold tooth.  “Little man,” he said, gripping Zog’s shoulder with a painfully strong hand, “Whuffo you run off, man?  I got the stuff.”

Zog shuddered, recalling all too well the incident inConnecticutwhen he attempted to warn the people at the country club about the brush fire.  Why his otherwise-advanced culture never learned Earth languages is a mystery that will never be solved.  You may recall how that bit of Good Samaritanship had gotten his brains bashed in by a golf club decades ago.  Thank God for modern Margolinian medicine.  But, I digress.

A wiser, more cautious, Zog now tried to shrink from the boy’s grasp.  He bent his knees until they touched the sidewalk.  When that didn’t work, he pulled out a ray gun and vaporized his assailant.

All that remained of the boy, Martin Luther Mogombo Jefferson, a direct descendent of a past President of theUnited States, was a cloud of smoke that smelled strongly of marijuana.

“Jesus,” said Eliot.

“Phoot, buppa-buppa, thrrrr-rumf, floob, Ba-roop, pop, vavoom, rip,” said Zog’s lively intestines.

About rosewater12

I am in hiding.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to THE UNEXPECTED RETURN OF ELIOT ROSEWATER, Chapter 8.

  1. Dead composed content, thank you for entropy. “In the fight between you and the world, back the world.” by Frank Zappa.

    • rosewater12 says:

      Lord knows it is hard to remain composed with all that entropy going on, eh? Thanks for the comment and the inspiring quote by the dearly departed Mr. Z.

  2. Great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  3. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

  4. I¡¦ll right away take hold of your rss feed as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me understand so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  5. gaba says:

    Hey, I just stopped in to visit your blog and thought I’d say thank you.

  6. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

  7. excellent issues altogether, you just gained a emblem new reader. What could you recommend about your put up that you made a few days in the past? Any certain?

  8. iphone 5 says:

    Awesome looking website. I recently built mine and I was looking for some design ideas and you gave me a few. May I ask you whether you developed the website by youself?

    • rosewater12 says:

      My website started with a free wordpress.com format & then I replaced the header with a detail from a Jackson Pollock painting.

  9. It is a truly very good read for me. Need to concur that you just are among the list of coolest blogger I actually saw. Many thanks for putting up this useful info. This was exactly what I used to be on on the lookout for. I will arrive back again to this weblog of course!

  10. I discovered your blog website on google and verify a number of of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the superb operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for ahead to reading more from you in a while!…

  11. click here says:

    Many of the commentary on this particular web site dont make sense.

  12. Hello, I enjoy reading through your article post.

    I like to write a little comment to support you.

Leave a Reply

