BECAUSE I CAN


BECAUSE I CAN #3

by Charles A. Clemens

I made some calls yesterday.
Getting prices on an electric wheelchair
or something.

This is worse than when
I got blown up.

Around four this morning,
after laying awake in bed for an hour,
I got up and took some Hydromorphone.
At six,
I had some coffee and
listened to Public Radio and watched the sunrise.
That was the best time I can remember.

I can’t find a way
to sleep.

They told me I have to leave.
No. I don’t have to do that.
Nobody tells me what to do,
Nobody.

About rosewater12

I am in hiding.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BECAUSE I CAN

  1. LaVagabonde says:

    Insomnia is frustrating, but hopefully the sunrise made up for some of it.

  2. rosewater12 says:

    Actually, Julie, this is an old poem I wrote during a rough patch before my 6th back surgery. I just ran across it while cleaning out my computer. I enjoy NPR’s MORNING EDITION early in the morning, used to listen to it on my way to work. Now, when I can’t sleep, it’s sort of a deja vu thing and, yes, when the sky brightens up, I do, too.

  3. you have had much suffering…and you still welcome the day…YOU are an inspiration to me! Your writing is right to the mark!

    • rosewater12 says:

      Thank you, Jane. You are so kind. I am sorry it took so long for me to discover your comment: I moved to eastern Tennessee, to the Smoky Mountains, in mid-May and haven’t been on WordPress.com in a coon’s age. I am writing a short story for Halloween. I hope you don’t find it too disgusting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

